Skip to content

No more lounging around

August 15, 2012
by

So after a couple of months of Katie being the sole bread winner of the two of us, I’ve finally once again become a contributing member of the relationship!  I got a job!

I was really lucky that it didn’t take that long to find something.   During the month that I spent fixing up our house, I was able to get a decent start on the job search.  I applied for a Water and Sanitation internship with IRC, which turned into a Program Manager position!

That’s right; the job is with the same organization as Katie, which comes with a lot of great benefits for us in terms of housing, transport, and logistics.  We work in different departments, but only a few doors down from each other!  Beyond that, and much more importantly, the job itself is awesome.  I started about a week and a half ago as a water and sanitation (WASH) program manager in the RRMP (Rapid Response to Population Movements) program.

RRMP is an emergency response program and reacts in crises, whether they are man-made or natural disasters.  My job is to improve the speed with which the WASH team is deployed in the wake of an emergency as well and the quality of interventions (latrines, wells, springs, small water distributions systems, and hygiene promotion etc…).  It’s great because it builds on my previous international work experience but also incorporates so many new and challenging aspects.

Well with animal drinking canal. Taken in Chad

Water spouts. Taken in Chad

I’m really happy with it.  And Katie is happy about it too, but with some reservations.  When asked, her response was, “Ahh, I’m excited for you but I’m also sad that you’re not going to be home at the house taking care of everything now.  But mostly, I’m excited.”

I can’t wait to see how it evolves over the next few weeks and I get to go out into the field!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2012 9:00 pm

    Congratulations, Jamie – that sounds like a great fit! And fab that you’re working near Katie. Hope you both are doing well. I didn’t know there was a blog I should be reading! (Heather, former co-resident of Kinshasa:) )

  2. Vina permalink
    August 15, 2012 11:26 pm

    Hey kids –

    Glad I finally caught up with your lives. Hope you’re enjoying Bukavu!! I have to say it’s pretty sad being in Kinshasa knowing there will be no epic dinner party at your place. You are sorely missed. Colleagues at work also miss you, Katie.

    Hope all is well and Bukavu looks absolutely lovely. If I have no job in September, I may come to visit. 🙂

    -Vina

Leave a Reply

