Skip to content

Super Vivid Mode

December 8, 2013
by

A big change has happened recently…

We’ve changed the name of this blog.

It used to be titled “Les aventures de Katie et Jamie“, a reference to the series of comic books Les aventures de Tintin, featuring a young Belgian adventurer who travels the world, including a trip to the Congo in a book released in the 1930s.  However, I think that few, if any, of the folks who came across this site managed to pick up on that obscure reference, and I fear that our title ended up coming off as though we had forgotten the letter ‘d’ in a rather cliche sounding travel blog.

So, after some reflection, and some inspiration searching for new title names, two things caught my eye…

Inspiration #1

One was an special setting on my new(-ish) camera called ‘super vivid mode’.  Pop that baby into super vivid mode setting and photos come out intensely colorful.  Often to my eye, super vivid mode captured a scene truer to the way that I was actually seeing it in real life than did in regular mode.  Other times, it made the scene even more intensely saturated than real life.  Either way, super vivid mode instantly became my favorite photo setting.

IMG_3171

Regular Mode – Beach chairs in Morondava, Madagascar

IMG_3170

Super Vivid Mode – Beach chairs in Morondava, Madagascar

IMG_3116

Regular Mode – Fishing Boat in Morondava, Madagascar

IMG_3115

Super Vivid Mode – Fishing Boat in Morondava, Madagascar

Inspiration #2

The other thing that caught my eye was a quote about travel and being away from home

“Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.”
― Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky

I’ve never actually read any Terry Pratchett, but this quote struck a chord for me.

The first thing that struck me was the ‘extra colors’ part- the idea that travel changes the way we see things, making our experiences more vivid.  I thought about super vivid mode on my camera, and how sometimes I feel like my life has been set on super vivid mode the past few years, and how much I appreciate that.

Sometimes it’s the good things that seem more intense and colorful. Like when the cheese aisle at the supermarket at home starts to look like a dairy version of Willy’s Wonka’s magical candy garden.  Or when I travel somewhere with internet faster than the synapses can fire in my brain.

Sometimes it’s just seeing the gritty side of things I’d normally take for granted at home, like assisting at my cat’s hysterectomy which took place on the plastic table on my porch (look out for that whole saga as a future post), or bonding with the turkeys that would become Thanksgiving dinner.

Either way, living in this form of super vivid mode is rarely boring.

Announcements

And so, with these two inspirations in mind, this brings us to the two announcements for this post:

#1 The name of this blog is now officially “Super Vivid Mode”, with the goal of sharing and highlighting some of those extra colors that Jamie and I see living away from home.

#2 We’ve decided to extend (yet again) our stay in Congo, probably until spring/summer of next year.  This is no longer the newest news anymore, but the decision was based partly on a new position that I accepted (same organization), and partly in order to keep things super vivid for a little while longer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. primelinedesign@yahoo.com permalink
    December 9, 2013 5:49 am

    I love “Super Vivid Mode”.

Leave a Reply

